The Times Saturday Review (Dec 15th 2012) carries a lengthy article with Raymond Briggs. It is mostly about the making of a sequel to The Snowman called The Snowman and the Snowdog. This is a 24 minute TV special produced by Lupus Films that gets its first broadcast on Channel 4 on Christmas Eve 2012.

During the course of  The Times interview, Raymond mentions the Ethel and Ernest film. Here is an extract:-

…Now it looks as if Lupus Films, the company behind The Snowman and the Snowdog, will be bringing out a film of Ethel and Ernest, with Jim Broadbent and Brenda Blethyn as the voices of Briggs’s parents. It’s currently in pre-production, and although it’s at a very early stage, Briggs says he is intensely interested in it – “It’s my Mum and Dad of course. And it’s one of my best selling books, and the book I like the most of what I’ve done. So I’m absolutely thrilled to bits that it might be possible. I will move heaven and earth to help get that done. Whatever I can do. I’ll do it.”

The desk where Raymond Briggs draws his books.

The desk where Raymond Briggs draws his books.

