Decca Aitkenhead talks to Raymond Briggs in today’s Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2016/dec/24/raymond-briggs-interview-the-snowman-ethel-and-ernest

What he cannot conceal is his delight at the reception his latest film has received. “I’ve been to three or four screenings, and the audience has applauded at the end every time. Amazing! Amazing.” Peering at me, he enquires casually: “They don’t applaud at the end of a film in the cinema very often these days, do they?” Happy to confirm they do not, I’m nonetheless not remotely surprised to hear that they did for Ethel and Ernest.

The film will be screened on Wednesday 28 December on BBC1, and on paper sounds so slight that I was quite unprepared for its impact – poignant and subtle, yet powerful enough to haunt me for weeks afterwards. – Decca Aitkenhead

screen-shot-2016-12-24-at-07-43-44

 

